Good Fourth Year Psych Away Rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

quasimodo

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any recommendations on where I should schedule my away rotations? I'm a third year student who is definately going into psychiatry. I'm hoping to go to a top tier residency program but don't want the stress of "auditioning", especially since I have no idea where I would like to go. Basically looking to do a rotation at any major academic program (preferably in a nice city where you don't need a car) where there will be ample contact with attendings who enjoy teaching medical students. I appreciate any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

quasimodo said:
(preferably in a nice city where you don't need a car)

As far as I know...this would pretty much limit your options to NYC...although I'm not sure that NYC could be aptly described as a "nice" city. "Awesome" would be more like it, IMHO. :)

I did a rotation in the consultation department at Mass General and I loved it. You learn a tremendous amount and have a great deal of autonomy. The only negatives are that it is the busiest rotation for the 3rd year residents, so they are incredibly busy. It is also a bit of an audition rotation. If you do a good job though, a letter from someone in that department goes a long way. I ended up getting an interview at every program I applied to (18 in all) and several were top tier.