Good loan lenders

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caladan

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm an undergrad and I'm trying to decide who to get my loans from. Mostly interested in Stafford loans but would also take out minimal private loans.

So, which are some good companies/agencies to go with? Seems that some people like Total Higher Ed (their repayment benefits sound nice) and Nelnet (I can't find their benefits online). I looked at Citibank/Chase/BankofA and there seem to be so many conditions to get loan repayment benefits (as in interest/principal discounts) that I'd rather not deal with them. My school doesn't really offer much help.

Has anyone used Mohela? They claim that they give 2% interest discount which is nice but they also charge orig fees for Staffords (total fees of 3% of principal)

If it makes a difference, I'm a resident of and will be going to school in NY.

Please also let me know if you've found your current loan company easy to deal with when it comes to deferments.

Thank you much

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately I don't think there's an objective compilation out there with all this data. Personally I decided to go with T.H.E. primarily because I liked how they didn't hinge their repayment incentives on making x many on time payments. I've already lost an incentive that way for prior loans, and while I'm pretty good at paying things, I have been known to occasionally make payments one to two days late -- easy to do when your life gets hectic.

My experience with them has been entirely positive, but I haven't needed a lot of extra service. I've called them a few times, and it's nice to note that you can easily get to speak with a real person instead of getting stuck in phone tree hell.

Anyway, I like 'em, but I'm sure there are other lenders that are as good or even better.