GPA trashed first two years, chances? On track now.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

buffdoctor

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok I go to a four year public university. I am 20 years old, my major is chemistry and I am minoring in mathematics. This will be my junior year going into college in the fall. I partied a lot the first 2 years in college, and my GPA suffered a lot. I have made up my mind and have decided to buckle down and do whatever it takes to succeed now.

My GPA: 90 credits @ 2.79......( I want to point out I got a 3.1 last quarter, 4.0 this quarter (only 1 class taken), and plan on doing well from now on)
Key Grades: Chem 121: B
Chem 122: B-
Chem 123: C
Bio 204: B
Bio 205: C+
Chem 351: B-
Phys 121: C+
Phys 122: B
My Extracurricular's:I have over 150 hours of volunteer service at the hospital. I also volunteer at local elementary school's every week to mentor children. I have started shadowing doctors, I am on the board for a school club, I play sports through my university, this year I also plan on getting involved in undergraduate research. I have also had part time jobs in the fast food and computer software industry.

My main question is what are my chances considering I get 3.7+ gpa every quarter from now on. What are my chances in getting into a medical school or an optometry school as I am both pre-med and pre-optometry. Please help, I have finally buckled down and decided what I want to do in life. I just hope it is not too late. Please be honest with me as well, I want the truth not something to make me feel better. THANKS!

Members don't see this ad.