Grad Plus Loan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnUC33

A Stinkin Conservative
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently talked to my financial aide counselor at school, and she really pushed the Grad PLUS over alternative loans because its set at 8.5%. Anyways, with alternative loans, isn't the interest rate set for the life of that loan? So if I get an interest rate of 5% on an alternative loan, would not that rate be set for that loan life? so how could the grad plus loan possibly be better then?

Members don't see this ad.

bump

anyone please

Okay, since no one replied, I will. :) I'm not sure if it will be applicable to you because I am a public health student and not a med student. Anyway, I have an alternative loan and the interest is variable. It started at 4% and within two years it has climbed to 7%. It is variable up to an incredible 25%!!! I really want to pay this loan off as fast as possible because it "feels" like it is credit card debt (i.e. variable, high interest). So, I can see why your financial aid person recommended a grad plus loan. I am quite conservative, so I think I would have preferred a grad plus loan with a fixed rate...even if it were initially higher. Variable interest rates really make me nervous. Also, is the grad plus loan considered a gov't loan. I believe there are benefits to gov't loans that private loans simply don't have.

Hope this helps.

Members don't see this ad :)
Kasi said: