Jun 25, 2014
New York City
Status
Pre-Dental
Good evening everyone,

I graduated from college 3 months ago and immediately started working at a fast-growing yet small startup. I initially thought that I would work the standard 9-6 and would have the time to study for the DAT. However, I find myself working more like 9-7 and am "on call" some nights. Additionally, my 1 - 1.5 hour commute each way is draining me. As a result, I am struggling to find time studying.

FYI, I haven't began studying, and my exam is January 30th. I laid out a study plan but don't know how effective or smart it will be because I'm not able to study consistently and the way my subjects are spaced don't seem too great. I'd really like some advice on what you think of my study plan.

So, here it is:

From now until November 1st
  • Study Biology 1 hour Monday-Saturday - I would just go over content with Cliffnotes and review review review until I get the contents down. I might even start doing some Destroyer questions near the end.
  • Study Gen Chem/Orgo 4-5 hours every Sunday - I would watch Chad's on the weekends and review the material during the weekdays. My studying for Gen Chem/Orgo is happening after I finish off Bio so I'm going to squeeze in an hour or two each week to review Bio so it remains fresh.
From November 1st to January 30th
  • Activate Bootcamp and use Bootcamp and Destroyer for the next 3 months to practice all sections. Hopefully by this time, I will have covered all contents for Gen Chem, Orgo, and Bio. Like before, I would also only have an hour or so during weekdays and Saturday and maybe a couple more during Sundays
  • I need to find time to review Math and do practice tests
*I'vee laid this out in my Google Calendar, so if anyone can take a look and give feedback, that'll be great.

If I really can't find time to study, I might actually even leave my job early November so I have 3 months to study full-time.

What do you think?