grading systems

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TxEMDoc08

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I was wondering how much you think the grading system of a school should weigh in on one's final decision when deciding where to go. I know that the grading system can have an effect on the environment of the school, i.e. how "cut throat" the class is, but other than that, does it really matter?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 4th year student at an H/P/F school. We are rare for having no form of class rank, nor an AOA chapter (all but 4 schools have one).

I don't think it should be a factor in your selection of a school at all.

Competitive people will be competitive and find ways to look good at others' expense in any grading system. Preclinical grades are irrelevant, so if you're stressing over getting an A in those courses you are just hurting yourself. Preclinical grading systems are completely different from school to school, so residency directors assess your learning of this material by looking at your Step 1 score instead.

All schools will have narrative evaluations for clinical rotations, which do matter, and certain people will be motivated to work harder than others. A few of those will do things that will hurt their peers. This is true anywhere, and you can probably identify the future generation of such people by looking around your premed classes.

I've heard that every single med school in the country ranks its students, although they may not admit that or state that explicitly anywhere. I know at UCLA their classes are p/f but they have an internal system where the top10% or so get Honors on their transcript. At UCI I also heard that they rank their students, although the dean stated otherwise. I think deans say that to create a less competitive environment.