Green Card for Medical School in USA???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

imdamian

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm really confused about one thing. First, I'll tell about my case. So, in this thread, it'll be about my case. But I hope everybody who has such case could get something from here.

Here, I am not a US citizen, I'm just a high school student in Indonesia, and I have a plan to take Medical School in USA. What I know so far is just I must have at least 90 units of undergraduate (university) education before attending the medschool. I've applied Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi to take Health Science or Pre-Medical. And I really hope I could continue to Medical School at New York University.

But I was just told that some of universities in USA need a medical school student who has a green card. He said NYU is one of them.
1) Anybody knows about NYU? Does NYU actually require a student who has a green card?
2) If NYU does, so, in my case, how can I apply to Medical School at NYU? Does anybody have any idea about how I can get the green card?

Thanks a lot :D

Members don't see this ad.

NYU will not take you without 4 years of college and probably you would need to be a permanent resident or US citizen. Technically, they can take someone with only 3 years of college (90 credits) but most medical schools do not...we had 1 person in my class who only went to college for 3 years, but he was pretty much a genius.

Also, probably about 5-10% of all students who try to get into NYU will be able to get in. This includes US students with good grades who will be trying also. For a non US citizen the acceptance rate would be a lot lower.