Guys, please advice on what to with research....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

powerfetish

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I made the mistake of getting research from the university's Biology Department's head, and he has put me in his research. When I went up to him today, he assigned me the topic and basically told me that I will have to learn about the procedure on my own. There were two graduate students there in the lab, and everyone was warm with me. But when I showed interest in the research and said that I would thoroughly research the procedure--read articles, contact other professionals, etc.--I noticed that everyone became ruder toward me. I don't know what I did wrong: it's my first time as a researcher--I am a freshman--but I thought my advisor wanted me to show him that I will work my butt off on the research; but it seems my enthusiasm had an opposite effect. Wth did I do wrong? I don't want to piss off my research advisor and head of Bio dept. What should I do??! Also, I am not very cognizant of my social environment, so maybe I missed something?

Members don't see this ad.