had enough of mice

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by Lucky Luciano, 09.26.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Lucky Luciano

Lucky Luciano 2+ Year Member

I'd like to know if there is any point in trying for USMLE / match.
    I graduated med school in Europe about 10 years ago. After one year of internship there, I came to US and did research. More precisely, I did brain imaging for two years and western blots on mice for most of the remainder. I had jobs in the hospital, but they weren't really patient-facing. For example, I did chart reviews for clinical studies. I am getting close to the end of a PhD in Molecular Medicine. I always worked at top 50 universities, and lately I minded my mice in the Top 1 university.
    I miss many things about proper clinic work: intellectual status, money, colleagues somewhat less mental. On top of it, NIH has limited opportunities for work on mice, so I'd rather get off the train before it's too late. Bloody postdocs will pretend they'd like to have a chat, only to ask 5 minutes later if I can lend them an antibody solution. Again, I am getting tired of the psychos around me.
    My MD boss wrote on others' LoR that he can't say anything about their clinical abilities, so that's going to be useless.
    My first question is: should I even bother with USMLE? I had quite a few exams during grad school, and I find them very easy. I just don't want to waste one year for studying and 3 yeas in residency, in order to get the family medicine license that I can get in Germany way sooner. I want to do oncology, and would really appreciate if I am not wasting 5 years before hearing it is not an option for me in US.