Has anyone done it before?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tulpje

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm hoping some of you can ease my anxiety.

I am a highschool graduate with 1 year of college education. I would like to go to Belgium for my full university experience.

I fell in love with Belgium when I was there and I can't wait to return. I have been working hard to save money and practice the language whenever possible. For cultural and financial reasons, I think Belgium is the place for me.

I want to know if anyone out there has gone straight from highschool(in the USA preferrably) to europe for university?! Everyone in the USA seems to think I'm nuts, but my families in Belgium have full faith in me.
I really want this to work out. I've worked so hard to get to where I am, and I would very much like to hear from someone who has done what I am trying to do. Most stories I hear are from people completing their bachelors and going on to masters in another country. Medicine is my ultimate goal!

Members don't see this ad.

My dear :) even I felt your heart. The whole world is yours and you live wherever you feel satisfied, and yes, of course there are many American students who are coming to have their med education in Europe.

BUT! :)

1) A US med school grad, generally speaking, can find job everywhere, while a European med school grad may or may not. So if you graduate from a US school, you can later come and live in Belgium(though I didnt make any research on specifically Belgium, so dont trust this datum that much, there is a need to understand the details of this point), but if you have your education in Belgium, you may or may not turn back, even if you want to. So mostly the American students try first US based schools, and later give a chance to the schools abroad.