Having second thoughts :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aviator97

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there! I didn't know where to post this, so I thought I would post it here. First, I would like to start off by saying I am currently a freshman in college majoring in Biology. My original plan was to obtain my biology degree and then get into a PA program and work as a Physician's Assistant. HOWEVER, I have realized I will need clinical experience to become a PA. This got me thinking. I am now thinking that maybe I should take pre-req courses to get into a D.O. program since I do want to work in the healthcare field, and then take the MCATs later on down the road obviously. I am thinking that if I do not get accepted into a D.O. program, then thats okay, I'll just take the year or two off after my bachelor's and gain healthcare experience. This will allow me the experience to get into a PA program, however I can also take that year or two to use that experience towards D.O. school. I would then apply to both PA programs and D.O. schools. Honestly, I would be perfectly fine in either one of these two professions. However, I'm having two conflicts in my head right now. The first is, I'm not sure I want to continue my biology degree, and am thinking maybe I should switch to a nursing degree since it would be a more healthcare, hands-on experience. Would having a nursing degree negatively affect my admissions to either the PA or D.O. program? The other conflict I'm having is more on a personal level, having to do with my own self-doubts. I just have self-doubts on whether I can make high enough marks to get into a D.O. or PA program. I'm a smart guy, I just have personal circumstances that cause me to do a little worse than I could actually be doing such as mental health issues of anxiety and sometimes mild depression that sprouts up as a result of my anxiety (and yes, I went to counseling and i