HCA moves to screw over resident's 401K

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Siggy

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident at a Florida HCA site and I just got a flyer in the mail from HR. Basically HCA is going to a yearly 401K match instead of a per period match. This has a couple implications. The biggest being that an HCA employee that leaves prior to December 31st will no longer get a 401K match.

HCA basically just took the retirement match away from residents for the last 6 months of residency.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a resident at a Florida HCA site and I just got a flyer in the mail from HR. Basically HCA is going to a yearly 401K match instead of a per period match. This has a couple implications. The biggest being that an HCA employee that leaves prior to December 31st will no longer get a 401K match.

HCA basically just took the retirement match away from residents for the last 6 months of residency.
I wonder what percentage of residents get a 401(k) match.

10%?

5%?

Less?

While it sucks the benefit is going down, you have to understand that having a 401(k) match as a resident is super unusual. Be happy you get any at all.

Reactions: 4 users

10%?

5%?

Less?

While it sucks the benefit is going down, you have to understand that having a 401(k) match as a resident is super unusual. Be happy you get any at all.
Wonder what HCA's rationale was. Screw residents and divert those funds to executive bonuses?

Still a dick move to screw over a captive employee pool.

Reactions: 1 users
Wonder what HCA's rationale was. Screw residents and divert those funds to executive bonuses?

Still a dick move to screw over a captive employee pool.
To be fair, it affects everyone. However there's a disparate effect against a sizable chunk of people with July-June contracts.