DO Hello friends!~

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PinkDinosoar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends. I have been lurking on this site for quite a while and want to know what my chances are.
I am currently in my last semester and have taken general bio/chem/physics courses as well as organic chemistry, cellular molecular biology and biochemistry. I retook both general chemistry courses and have 3 W's on my transcript. (Orgo lab/intro eng course/and my school's choir group that was counted as a class). How will this affect me?

I am very sure that my cumulative GPA will be at a 3.4 w/ a science GPA of 3.2 after I graduate. I also have a pretty bad MCAT score 501 (I plan on retaking this).

Other than that I have...
- Worked as a lab assistant in a clinic where I got to perform phlebotomy, screen for flu/mono/strep, and run urine samples. (about half a year)
- I also have gotten my Certified Nurse Assistant license and am a substitute care giver for a private home where I got about around 500+ hours.
- Basic life support certified
- I also volunteer in a underrepresented community taking vital signs for a elder care program (100 hours)
- I also do small volunteering at my church.. (around 70 hours)

I also have shadowed both MD/DO's and will receive a LOR from both (primary care physicians)
I am also in the process of trying to get a LOR from one of my bio professors..

What do you all think my chances are with my current stats... I am only going to try to apply early and broadly to lower/mid tier D.O schools.

I plan on taking a gap year and applying for the next cycle. Should I maybe do a DYI post-bacc program and take more upper level courses? What I plan on doing during my gap year is to try get a scribe position at a hospital or volunteer at planned parenthood.

I am also not a URM..

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.