HELP! Future Pre-pharm major! Pharm majors please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pamelaaax

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! So I am currently a sophomore in high school and I want to be a pharmacist when I grow up. When I go to college I want to take a 0-6 program and I wanted to know if I'm the right track and I need some help with my schedule. Right now we are doing course selection at my school and I've come to face a bit of a problem. So my chem teacher gives these amazing recommendations as to what science you should take the next year like so good that people come back and tell her that she was right and it helped them out in college. My friends sister that goes to Cornell even came back and said she was right and that college was a bit harder for her when she took Bio because she don't take her recommendation in high school. She told me that since I want to be a pharmacist I should take AP Chem and Physics I Honors ( in my school you either take physics prior or concurrently with AP chem) So I would essentially be doubling up on sciences. The only thing is that my school has certain requirements such as Technology and stuff that I need to take. Freshman year I took a half year course so I still need another half and I need to do technology. If I did double up on sciences next year then I would have to double up on electives senior year. Should I take my teachers recommendation and then take AP Bio senior year. Also there is an internship program I can do senior year but in order to do that I would most likely have to quit lacrosse senior year. Should I do it? The internship I would get to choose and would obviously be at a pharmacy. Let me know what you think and if I'm on the right track.

Freshman Year:
English I
Algebra I
World History I
Biology I
PE/Health
FInancial Literacy (Half Year course)
theatre I ( half year course)
Spanish Speakers I