Help I know nothing.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kitesandstars94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,
I need some help. I'm a pre-med student and my boyfriend is pre-pharm and a rising senior. He is kind of just winging the process and hasn't done all that much research into what it takes to apply/ get into pharmacy school. Being pre-med, my application process is totally different so I have no advice for him. So I was hoping to get some questions answered to help him out. He has a 3.3 GPA and a 427 PCAT (92nd percentile). His EC's aren't bad but could be stronger. He'll almost definitely get into the pharmacy school that is affiliated with our undergraduate, but he is interested in going somewhere else as well. He is applying this cycle.
So his questions are this:
1) He hasn't submitted his PharmCas app yet. He's currently in the process of working on it. Is he kind of late? Should he get it done ASAP, or does he have a little time?
2) How many schools should someone with his stats typically apply to?
3) What are some examples of schools he might be competitive for?
4) How much work are the "supplemental applications" for each school? Do these generally require additional essays and things like that?
5) Will he get a supplemental application from every school he applies to, or is there a "screening" process?
6) When is a safe date to have his supplemental applications submitted by to give him a a good shot at admission?
7) So his freshman year, he was charged with possession of paraphernalia, but it was expunged. Is this going to come up on applications? Is it likely to affect his chances?

I think that's all the questions we have for now. Thank you so, so much!!!

Members don't see this ad.

1) No. He has a bit of time. Most public schools won't even start to look at apps until Sept (ED) or Oct, some even Dec or Jan.