Help me decide please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Teacher07

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My ultimate goal is to work in a therapy situation with children and perhaps do some assesment type things as well because I'm very interested in learning disabilities (I am a teacher after all).

My choices:

UMASS Amherst School psych Phd
MSPP Psyd

Lets put money aside for a minute and just based on your knowledge of the programs/field etc, which should I choose?

Members don't see this ad.

I know nothing about either school specifically, but from what you said you want to do, it sounds like school psych would be the place for you.

I know nothing about either school specifically, but from what you said you want to do, it sounds like school psych would be the place for you.

I don't know anything about the schools either, but I definitely think a school psych Ph.D would be more beneficial for what you want to do than a Psy.D.

So, I therefore concur with RayneeDeigh :p.

Members don't see this ad :)
Waiting Kills.... why would you say that the PhD would be more suitable? In my honest opinion, either doctoral degrees would suffice. Certainly, more research through a PhD program wouldn't make this candidate a better therapist. If anything, it would be the PsyD program that promotes the clinician model.

Waiting Kills.... why would you say that the PhD would be more suitable? In my honest opinion, either doctoral degrees would suffice. Certainly, more research through a PhD program wouldn't make this candidate a better therapist. If anything, it would be the PsyD program that promotes the clinician model.

It's between PsyD and SCHOOL psychology PhD, not clinical PhD. Turning this into a PhD/PsyD debate won't help the OP. For what the OP wants to do, a school psych PhD would offer her the best opportunity in my opinion.