HELP me understand the Basics...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MGMC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a final year medical student in India. I will be taking USMLE in the year 2012. Can some one guide me in understanding what happens next (Once i have cleared my USMLE) I want to do Cardiology or Oncology. I am aware that i need to do Residency there for 3 years and then i choose any one of the above option.

In order to do that do i have to take Internal medicine residency? and then choose Cardio or Onco fellowship? So does it mean that 3 years of Res + 3 years of cardio or Onco?

And do i have to pay for my residency like an annual fee or do i get payed?

I would be really grateful if someone guide me in understanding these things.

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a final year medical student in India. I will be taking USMLE in the year 2012. Can some one guide me in understanding what happens next (Once i have cleared my USMLE) I want to do Cardiology or Oncology. I am aware that i need to do Residency there for 3 years and then i choose any one of the above option.

In order to do that do i have to take Internal medicine residency? and then choose Cardio or Onco fellowship? So does it mean that 3 years of Res + 3 years of cardio or Onco?

And do i have to pay for my residency like an annual fee or do i get payed?

I would be really grateful if someone guide me in understanding these things.

Thank you!!