Help Me With Suggestions/Advice Please!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ag524

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! Long time reader, first time poster haha. I just wanted to let you know about my current situation and what some of your advice/suggestions/comments are. So first I'll discuss my grades, then my dental experiences, and then my quest to gain acceptance into dental school.

I graduated in February 2011 with a B.S. in Biomedical Science and a minor in Pharm & Tox. My cumulative GPA was a 3.696. I was also a member of our pre-dental club and the Association for Pre-Medical Students. I took the DAT in October 2011 and had the following scores (numbers in parentheses represent the percentile):
- PAT: 19 (69.4)
- QR: 18 (86.6)
- RC: 22 (93.2)
- BIO: 23 (98.9)
- GEN CHEM: 22 (95.2)
- ORGO: 20 (84.4)
- TS: 22 (98.3)
- AA: 21 (97.2)

As far as dental experience, I have always been on the path towards dentistry. I did a high school internship observing a general dentist my senior year of high school (oh how I wish my guidance counselors had told me about the combined degree programs..ugh). I also observed the dental clinic at my university during my undergraduate years. I admit I would've liked to observe the clinic more, but between studying my coursework and working part time, I went as often as I could. All together I had roughly 100 hours of shadow experience. As of last week, I found a place to shadow again which will be important for my reapplication (which I will tell you about soon...I know this is getting long so please be patient with me haha).