HELP: Scheduling the USMLE Steps while attending a foreign medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jeesan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone :) I need some advice regarding how I should prep myself & schedule the Steps, especially with scheduling step I because my school does not have provisions for taking the test. The post I'm about to make is pretty long and may look clumsy :oops: but I have to put in some basic information about my condition so that you guys can give me a sound advice. I earnestly request you to please go through it and help me with scheduling the Step I.

First off, I am a medical student in Chittagong, Bangladesh going to start my 3rd year coming January. The curriculum of our course (MBBS) is divided into 3 phases:
(i) 1 and 1/2 yrs Pre‐clinical; when we study Anatomy, Physiology and Biochemistry,
(ii) 2 yrs Para‐clinical; when we study Pathology, Pharmacology & Toxicology, Microbiology & Immunology, Forensic Medicine and Community Medicine(which partly covers behavioral science), and finally
(iii) 1 and 1/2 years Clinical; when we go through Medicine, Surgery and Obs. & Gynae.
At the end of each phase we sit a 'professional exam' and I've just passed my first one. I will sit the second professional exam by August 2012. I will have finished the subjects tested in Step I although might not be with full coverage of topics and in enough detail. I know that we haven't been taught Physiology in enough detail and I was particularly weak in Biochemistry & Genetics so I need to review them thoroughly. I wish to study my second phase subjects in a way more oriented towards the USMLE so hopefully I wont have much deficit in those subjects (i.e. Patho, Pharma & Micro & Immuno).