Help with dilemma? Taking classes at local university vs. full postbac program...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDMack

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there, SDNers. First-time re-applicant who is trying to figure out whether it would be better to DIY my application improvement or to apply for a postbac program. Appreciate any advice you can offer!

My med school application story so far:

Nuts and bolts -
cGPA: 3.51
(upward trend: 3.3/2.96 Freshman&Sophomore, 3.84/3.83 Junior&Senior)
sGPA: 3.28 (upward trend: 2.67/2.50 Freshman&Sophomore, 3.75/3.78 Junior&Senior)
MCAT April 2016: 512 [Chem/Phys: 127 (79%), CARS: 128 (90%), Bio: 130 (97%), Psych/Soc: 127 (78%)]
  • As an undergrad, I had to work long hours to help finance my tuition, meaning there was little time leftover after work and classes for volunteering, shadowing, and other extracurricular activities. I also struggled academically in my freshman and sophomore years due to mental health issues. After getting clinically diagnosed/treated for depression and anxiety, I was better able to focus on classes and balance work, which led to significant improvements in my GPA junior and senior years.
  • Despite improvements, I was still spread thin during my final semester of college, when I worked 12 hours a week, overloaded on classes to finish 2 degrees, took the MCAT, prepared for graduation, applied for post-grad jobs, and moved to a new apartment. As you can probably guess, that went over super well (hah). I was thankfully able to graduate on time in 2016, but in the "something's gotta give" struggle, my medical school application took backseat. I managed a sort of hail Mary application with whatever time I had - cobbling things together last minute, closing my eyes while pressing the submit button, and praying for dear life. 0/10 would not recommend this approach, but did the best with what I had.