HELP!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredo32

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated residency in 2015 . I switched to what I thought was a better program after massive changes were made to my initial program . I knew my first year of psych residency I would prefer FP but listened stupidly to others who said to stay and get a second residency in FP after, I tried and failed but had planned to try next year. I failed the board exam last year and was sick this year but they are letting me take it tomorrow. I had been studying from Clive and Spiegel- last years and honestly hadn't looked at DSM 5. It has big changes and I am a slow studier so I can take the exam tomorrow knowing I will fail or not. I feel like another failure will lessen my already low chances of a second residency. I have a small private practice and it's not paying the bills. I currently take 4 insurances I just have so few patients. I will be BE until next year and if I don't pass the boards I am done for and will have nothing. I currently have a part time locums job. ALL the jobs want BC or some BC/BE. Do I take the exam tomorrow knowing I have zero chance of passing? I wanted to pass this year to show FP programs I can pass their board exam too. But I am beyond burned out, learned my hashimotos converted and that's why I have been feeling so ill, my TSH was 0.04 (seeing an endocrinologist next week). I don't know whether or not to take the board tomorrow or not. I wont pass I am positive of that. My DSM 4 psych was strong my neuro not good. My DSM 5 psych is non existent. I should have read it anyway not just for the board, I realize that............ I am burned out and a slow studier, no trying to hustle and cram today.
So a few questions
1. My comlex scores were all low passed first time. Will failing the psych board exam twice lessen my chances of matching into fp when I apply next year?