Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Help!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by ashlander, Dec 16, 2008.

1. ashlander

5+ Year Member

Dental Student
    I guess I am a nontraditional student since I was gone from school for 2.5 years for Army(international student). I came back to school in Spring of 2007 and worked very hard to get my GPA up from GPA before Army. (I had 2.1 cum for the first 2 years) :thumbdown:
    After I came back from Army, I got 4.0, 3.235, 4.0, 3.8 for 4 semesters plus two summers (3.4, 3.33) as well as some shadowing(around 100 hours so far).
    Now that the finals are over, I calculated my GPA the way AADSAS is going to do in May when I apply..turns out to be.. 3.4117 BCP, 3.1788 cum, and 3.1785 sci.
    So far, I have taken 2 gBio(A, B), gchem(B, B) + lab(A), ochem(B, A) + 1 lab(A), phys 1(B), biochem(A), and anatomy(B) for my science (I had no BCP before Army). I will be taking microbio, ochem lab2, and 1 more bio in spring.
    My school calculates GPA differently (3.4 now after retakes), and I am really depressed right now. I thought I would have a chance next cycle but my GPA turns out to be a lot lower than I expected....:(
    I haven't taken DAT yet but will be taking it in Spring 09 before applying in May 09.
    You experts think I will have a shot??
    I need some advice...to increase my chances and be more competitive..:scared:
    Thanks in advance!

#1 ashlander, Dec 16, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2008
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Ranelar

7+ Year Member

Dental Student