Holding a US vet license while practicing overseas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

truffleshuffle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I graduated from vet school in the US and practiced there in NY for a year before moving to New Zealand. I'd like to keep my US license current so I don't have to take the NAVLE again if I move back. Sorry if this is a confusing post, I'm looking for advise on either approved online CE courses or a different state I could apply for a license that would be more flexible on accepting international CE credits.

What's everyone's opinion on which state would be the easiest to hold a license in while being overseas in terms of the CE requirements? I have a current New Zealand vet license and am required to take CE here to keep this current. However, I have talked to the state board and NY is quite strict on their CE requirements, so I would have to look up online CE courses (which they don't have a list of) to take to keep my NY license current in addition to the CE I'm required to take for NZ. Otherwise does anyone know a variety of approved online CE I can do for this?

Thanks in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user