Honest input/advice for audition rotation dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Per4mer8

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current MSIV who THOUGHT i had recieved all the audition acceptances I was going to get and as such filled my Nov block with an easy type rotation that would be perfect for interview flexibility (if I get Nov invites). However today I received an acceptance for an audition at an "upper-tier" Cali school.

Here's my dilemma, I'm a DO student who had basically mentally prepared myself for the reality that Cali is pretty difficult to get into (2011 NRMP stats show only 1 DO matched into Cali Anesthesia last year). I have no real connection to Cali as I was born and raised in Las Vegas. My end goal is simply to go to the best program I can that fits me, hopefully in the western U.S. (i'm including Texas).

So, do I go? Would declining the invite essentially nix any chance to go to Cali in the match? I know its neurotic to even consider declining an audition that was kindof a longshot to get in the first place but I'm confused. Thank you for any words of advice.

Members don't see this ad.

If it's UCSF, I wouldn't bother. They'll reject you a day into your audition if they don't want you... not being facetious either.

Members don't see this ad :)
I had a lot of interviews in November so that would have been a big problem for me since most places will only give you a couple days off during the month. Since it might be a low yield rotation anyway, you might be better off focusing on interviewing at as many places you can during November. I'd hate to see you turn down a bunch of interviews in prime time interview season just for one program. IMO, unless matching to Cali is super important for you, I'd forget about it. Interview spots fill quickly, so November might be your only option at some places.