Hours for shadowing question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tigerlily7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I just discovered this great site and have a question about shadowing. After checking with about 5 vets, I finally found a clinic willing to let me shadow. They're a big emergency clinic and I'm excited to start but I've been told I can only shadow for 2-3 hours a day, two days a week because they want to get other people who want to shadow in. By the time I go to college in the Fall, that will be 60hours if I can get 3 hours each time.
So I'm wondering if that's not a lot of hours and if I should try to find a second clinic to shadow in or something. I'm just graduating high school by the way, though I will have my AA so I'm a bit ahead of the game, though this is my first time shadowing a vet.
Let me know what you think! Thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Take it. If you aren't satisfied with the number of hours, look for a second opportunity. Since you won't be spending much time at that clinic it shouldn't be hard to find the time for both. I wouldn't turn it down without finding something better though, just in case.

And while it's nice to spread them out, it really isn't hard to rack up some hours pretty quick if need be. I had 0 vet hours when I started undergrad and submitted my VMCAS after 2 years.

Just always be looking for new opportunities and new contacts to help you along the way, and don't stress about it too much because you've got plenty of time.

Also, welcome to SDN :)