How are my chances???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dental 2009

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international students( From South Korea) and I have been here for three years. I heard that it is harder to get into dental school as an international student. So, I am scared that I have to wait another year to re-apply for dental school. Here are what I did and I am doing now for dental school:

-I am working as Biology Tutor on campus (I have been working as tutor for about 1 1/2 years)
-I am also working as Teaching Assistance(TA). I taught Human and Anatomy lab last semester. I am teaching general biology for summer session. I will be TA for cell biology next semester.
- I have research experience for about 130 hours. ( I am still working)
-I am shadowing one of local dentist ( about 100 hours and still shadowing)
-I have 3.9 GPA overall, and 3.9 Science GPA.

One thing that I am worry about is the application.
I am trying to fill everything for EC/volunteer/Activity. I have only five or six out of ten( max). Should I use a really formal sentence when I briefly explain about what I did or what I am doing????

I have another question here:
I am in Dental Club, but I really did not do anything. We just had several guest speaker and I just attended there and listened to them. So, should I put that in as EC???

What should I get on my DAT to get chances????

Thank you guys,
I am stressed out. There are too many things to do.

Members don't see this ad.

You'll be fine as long as you can get a 20 or above.

Hey, I mean, I am an international myself and I got in. My GPA is way lower than yours too.

Hello, my Korean friend.
Most of private schools don't care about your status. Only public ones accept 1~3 people a year.
I guess you are grad student?
Is that 3.9 undergrad GPA? or post-grad GPA?
If it's former, you are fine with DAT of 18 or above to get in somewhere.