Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

How can I teach myself O Chem II?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Exalya, Dec 28, 2008.

1. Exalya

2+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Pre-Medical
    For complex reasons, I am taking O Chem II from the guy I took O Chem I from, and he is the most awful professor in the world... namely, he doesn't teach. At all. I wish I could take from the one other professor, but there are major scheduling conflicts with two other important classes. In O Chem I, I studied the book, I studied the lectures, I did the problems in the book... and it just wasn't enough. He tests on a level far beyond any practice problems that I could find in the book or online. He does not offer quizzes or homework. Supplemental instruction is available, however, I have to work during those times. So, I have my task: I need to teach myself everything there is to know about O Chem II, and I want to start now, before the spring classes begin.

Do any of you have suggestions for texts I could use? Places that have highly complex practice problems? I would even go for educational software, if I could find it.

2. DrBrizzle

2+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Pre-Medical
    Are you looking for course relevant orgo II (your level, specifically) or MCAT orgo II? As far as for your course, I cant really recommend anything head and shoulders above anything else. If you need to learn your prof's style of orgo, then talk to him: ask him for tips on "supplementary material" (or dress it up however you want). If you are looking for MCAT specific orgo II, i would recommend the Exam Krakers books, they're pretty comprehensive for the test. They have flashcards in the back too, which are nice. I used this book for my MCAT and did reasonably well, but I had taken a formal orgo II class. Hope this helps-

3. redlight