How Competitive are NYC EM Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rager14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an AMG who got a 212 on step 1 and received all passes in the first 2 years with the exception of 2 High Passes. I just started my third year and received a P in Internal Medicine. I plan to take my step 2 in July and hopefully do really well on that. I am an officer in my schools EM club and plan on doing some research in the ER. I am really interested in Emergency Medicine as a career and I'm set on doing it. I am from New York, attend med school in NYC, and really want to do my residency there.

Please let me know what my chances are at matching into an EM residency in NYC, I have no preference for a 3 or 4 yr program. Also, which programs are easier/more likley to match into with someone with my resume so I know which programs to target for away rotations.

Also any help on how to improve my application would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Your stats are below average for EM at this time. You should apply widely, including all the NYC EM programs and see where you get interviews. You do have a chance though. Try to step up your game in 3rd year and honor your EM clerkship whenever you take it. Take step 2 early and do better on it. You have some work to do.

Members don't see this ad :)
Agreed, step up your game - but remember, 50% of people who match have below average scores. All is not lost. I have no input regarding NYC or NYstate.

Edit: consider doing away rotation(S) at less competitive schools to increase your chances, especially if you're a personable person who everybody likes. This will require careful planning of 3rd and 4th year, as well as when to take step 2 (and you'll have to balance taking step 2 early to increase your away rotations, versus taking time off to study for it).