How difficult is OSU-COM as a nonresident?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KatieJune

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to be applying to OSU-COM and am wondering if I have a shot. I read that 90% of the class are OK residents. I have a 3.5 gpa and 29P mcat. I'm a AR resident. Is it really competitive as a nonresident? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by KatieJune
I'm going to be applying to OSU-COM and am wondering if I have a shot. I read that 90% of the class are OK residents. I have a 3.5 gpa and 29P mcat. I'm a AR resident. Is it really competitive as a nonresident? Thanks!

i'm a non-resident, and if you can get used to the okies and their . . "okie"ness it's not that bad . .

seriously though, don't discount OSU just because they don't seem nonresident friendly. go ahead and apply-- if i remember correctly, they make the big paring down with the interview. so if you make the interview, your chances of getting accepted increase to at least 50%. probably a bit higher, considering many out of staters (like me) will be strong enough applicants to get acceptances from the private DO schools as well as their own state allopathic schools. I turned down kirksville and mizzou, so not *everyone* with other acceptances leaves, but some will.

tuition wise, i think out of state at OSU is comparable to the privates, but with OSU you get 1) a large university system for support, 2) name recognition in the residency world-- ("you're from Oklahoma State? that's cool, they had a great football season and their basketball team is the best in the big twelve, blah blah blah" versus "kirkville?? where the hell is that?") 3) a city that you can actuially do some things in your free time.

there are other perks as well, but the bottom line is don't let what appears to be a low out of state selection trend to make you not apply.