How do I further build my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mspeedwagon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All, Thank you for reading this. I would like advice on what areas of my overall application I should improve.

I have bolded the most important sections, but added a lot of detail. I really want to be a doctor and will be leaving a career in the biotech/pharma world to pursue it. I currently work full-time and part-time. I am not taking any classes currently and just prepping for a possible MCAT re-take.

I still need to take g-chem II lab and o-chem I and II lab and that will wrap-up the courses portion of my pre-med journey. I think my biggest negative is that I took classes one at a time, though I did pretty well over all. Also, my MCAT score is 26 (9 PS, 8 VR, 9 BS).

I'm a 31 year old, African-American/Caucasian New York resident. I graduated from an Ivy League college as a member of the Class of 2005. Neither of my parents attended college, but I have siblings that did. I will be applying as an economically disadvantaged applicant. I am aiming to start medical school in the Fall of 2015.

Here is my work experience (have solid recommendations from M.D.s at all places (and one D.O. at Stanford)):
- From 2011 to current, I worked as an oncology clinical research monitor for Pfizer till August 2012. I did similar work for Ariad Pharmaceutical from August, 2012 till April 2014. I now work with Johnson & Johnson.
- From 2008 to 2010, worked in the biotech field (full-time) at a start-up company as a clinical research associate. I helped develop, run and monitor Phase I and II trials for leukemia and influenza.
- From 2009 to current, work part-time as a regulatory and data consultant for the Stanford pediatric oncology department assisting with sorting through all regulatory (FDA compliance) work.