LanceArmstrong

Level X Elite User
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
How Do I start a clinical trial?

Let's say I want to start a clinical trial for example to test whether labetalol reduces colon caner. Who do I go to to get the project going. What paperwork must I have to start using this drug thats approved for another use in my colon cancer patients. What kind of consent forms do I need. How do I design the study and what must I write before I start, and how do I monitor the study. Most importantly who is an expert in clinical trials that I can go to to get help and answers to all my questions - let's say im in a community hospital thats closely affiliated with a large university and I am an intern or a 2nd year resident.

Thank I advance for your help...:)

GoinBack2Cali?

it used to be so cool
10+ Year Member
Jul 6, 2006
San Francisco, CA
Status (Visible)
  1. MD/PhD Student
How Do I start a clinical trial?

Let's say I want to start a clinical trial for example to test whether labetalol reduces colon caner. Who do I go to to get the project going. What paperwork must I have to start using this drug thats approved for another use in my colon cancer patients. What kind of consent forms do I need. How do I design the study and what must I write before I start, and how do I monitor the study. Most importantly who is an expert in clinical trials that I can go to to get help and answers to all my questions - let's say im in a community hospital thats closely affiliated with a large university and I am an intern or a 2nd year resident.

Thank I advance for your help...:)

Identification of “drug”
Establish research bank
Develop “bench scale” production
In-house pilot-scale production
Analytical assay development of bulk product
Evaluation of potency using suitable bioassay
Preparation of cGMP Production Banks
Initiate analysis of cGMP Master and Production Banks
Manufacturing of cGMP bulk product