???How do you know if your ECs are competitive???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bokken

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I graduated last year and it's difficult to get in touch with my college premed adviser. People on this board recommend that I don't apply until I'm competitive so that I don't have to be a reapplicant. I agree so I'm planning on shoring up my stats and extracurriculars before I apply. Is there a checklist of extracurriculars that must be completed to be a competitive applicant? If so, what do I need to do before I apply?

***Would this question be better asked in the non-trad section?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi SDN,

I graduated last year and it's difficult to get in touch with my college premed adviser. People on this board recommend that I don't apply until I'm competitive so that I don't have to be a reapplicant. I agree so I'm planning on shoring up my stats and extracurriculars before I apply. Is there a checklist of extracurriculars that must be completed to be a competitive applicant? If so, what do I need to do before I apply?

***Would this question be better asked in the non-trad section?
The best thing to do would be to post your actual EC's, stats, etc. in this thread (or in the What Are My Chances? forum) and let some of the experienced users on this site, especially the Adcoms who frequent the forums, the opportunity to advise you. I am not aware of any specific checklist posted here per se.

That's the thing. I'm not applying this year. I've ~300 volunteering hours b/t a hospital and hospice over the past 2 years and ~50 hours of shadowing but that's about it for medically related extracurriculars. I was wondering if there is a checklist so I know what else I should do before I apply next year.

Members don't see this ad :)