How do you make it work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

axm028400

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a fourth year student, and after much debate have decided to apply for an IM residency. I was considering another subspecialty with a much more cush lifestyle, but after much thought feel that I'll like medicine much more and see myself doing this field, as its what I'm most interested in. My question is, how do you make it work? I currently have a 1 year old child and am happily married to a very supportive spouse, and I want to be able to be a great mom and wife. We are fortunate to have a great daycare and family support I might add. Is it possible? Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would consider being a hospitalist in a academic university. Your hours will be good, maybe 8am-4pm, you will have residents who do most of the work. You can attend lectures and be involved in teaching which will keep the job fun. Salary will probably be around $150K/yr.

Axm028400.

I think that IM is a field that is family friendly, as long as you know what you want and are willing to make sacrifices (as with all things in Medicine and in life). Residency is always tough, no matter what field you go into. What you'll need to decide is how rigorous you want your training to be and where you see yourself in 10 yrs.

From a residency standpoint, a quick glance at various threads on SDN will show you which programs will fit you best. Trust me, you can put up with almost anything for 3 yrs. With a small child at home and your current support network, I would suggest choosing a program that's close to home though. I'm assuming your question is directed more at your overall career and lifestyle thereafter.