How do you study ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Futuredoctor193

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys ! As you may know I am a undergrad bio major . I was just wondering how do you guys study ? Tips? I'm still struggling with finding my way of studying .
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I always try to find ways to study more efficiently..studying smarter is better than studying more/harder.

-Read chapters from the book if the professor recommends it.
-Do practice tests if any are available
-Make yourself a study guide for each test, start a few days-week before the exam
-Find what the professor emphasizes...may it be lectures, textbook, power points,etc and study them mostly.

I follow along in the book with my notes, focusing mostly on notes, but the book helps me get the big picture idea. After going through the material the first time and drawing big ideas and main concepts from it, I then go back and learn the small details and memorize. The third time I go through my notes, I tie all of the concepts and the small details to the big picture, and focus mostly on recall of information. Flash cards don't do me any good because they don't allow you to learn the big picture, and for me study guides are a waste of time.

Members don't see this ad :)
I follow along in the book with my notes, focusing mostly on notes, but the book helps me get the big picture idea. After going through the material the first time and drawing big ideas and main concepts from it, I then go back and learn the small details and memorize. The third time I go through my notes, I tie all of the concepts and the small details to the big picture, and focus mostly on recall of information. Flash cards don't do me any good because they don't allow you to learn the big picture, and for me study guides are a waste of time.