How important is Research in the application process?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pbhigag

WVSOM
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering... it's because I can do research at a good school next summer or I can apply for a spot in the National Outdoor Leadership School, where I would basically backpack and kayak in Australia for a month. I really want to do the NOLS trip (if i get a spot) but if it really hurts my chances of getting into an OOS school, I'll have to stick with research.

Basically, right now, I am a sophomore with 3.5 overall and 3.4 Science GPA (it'll come up, no worries..). I'm a student ambassador (about 30 volunteer hours this year) and a volunteer at the hospital (just starting up again, 20 hours last year). Last summer I took summer classes and worked in a medical office. This summer, I'll be working at a hospital in DC, volunteering at camp, and maybe doing something overseas. And I've got some intramural sports mixed in there too, but they aren't too important i guess. oh yeah - I'm in the prehealth medical honor society (aed).

Anybody with some advice? I don't know if the stuff I've done would make up for not doing research

Members don't see this ad.

Are you ever going to have the chance to go to Australia. If the chances of you saying no are greater than 50% then go to Australia. Plain and simple. You can find time to do research, but its not going to keep you out of schools.

Can you fit research into your schedule during the school year? The program in Australia sounds amazing and could add some zest to your application

You are in college..explore, have fun (it'll be summer). I tried not to plan my 4 years around getting into medical school and I think I enjoyed myself (and stayed sane).

Members don't see this ad :)