Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

how many hours should one study for the mcat?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by MedQuest, Jun 21, 2002.

1. MedQuest

MedQuest Da Truth

How much is enough time. I started taking kaplan prep two weeks ago. Is two months enough. I now it's up to the individual to study but realisticly how much is enough time?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Jalby

Jalby I fight crime at day when Batman are sleeping.

Pre-Veterinary
  4. simpleG

simpleG Member

lol jalbrekt,

just study your ass off. 2 months is not that much time, and the mcat will be tomorrow. there is never "enough"; there just is.

5. Wahoo07

Wahoo07 Senior Member

I think two months is more than enough. I studied for about 6 weeks and got a 33 this April. Just put in as much time as you can every day and do lots and lots and lots of practice tests!! I put in at least 3 hours a day and though I felt I wasn't as ready as I could have been, I still did well. Just enjoy the material and do lots of practice tests and you will be fine. :)

6. vyc

vyc Senior Member

2 months is plenty of time if you concentrate and stay focused throughout.
    i put in about 2 hours/day the first time around and then about 6-8/day the second time around.

it's all about how well you want to do and how desperate you are to prove yourself.

7. avhart

avhart Member

I heard somewhere (can't remember where anymore) that to do "average" on the MCAT, you must study 20 hours a week for 10 weeks. I don't think I really did that and I did above average...I think it really depends on you and you're probably a pretty good judge of how you're doing. But do NOT put it off. The one-month mark freaked me out and that's when I really went nuts studying.

8. banannie

banannie Senior Member

5-10 hours a week at first (not including taking full length exams).