How many OD's should you shadow?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ODDream

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there I am a prospective student and was wondering how many OD's you should really shadow before the schools have considered you as a good applicant. I know its not all about the work exp. or shadowing but I hear so many mixed things from people working at a eye clinic for years and years up to people going from 12-4 on Sat. I have already shadowed 2 different OD's under the same company. I am looking to do two more situations; rural settings and big retail chains like Walmart. Also does anyone have any good info for people that are applying this year since it is the season for applications, in terms of essays, hard interview questions and how to face them. Thanks in advance for your input.

Members don't see this ad.

ODDream said:
Hi there I am a prospective student and was wondering how many OD's you should really shadow before the schools have considered you as a good applicant. I know its not all about the work exp. or shadowing but I hear so many mixed things from people working at a eye clinic for years and years up to people going from 12-4 on Sat. I have already shadowed 2 different OD's under the same company. I am looking to do two more situations; rural settings and big retail chains like Walmart. Also does anyone have any good info for people that are applying this year since it is the season for applications, in terms of essays, hard interview questions and how to face them. Thanks in advance for your input.