How many programs do psych applicants typically rank?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iceman43

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this varies depending on your situation and what kind of programs you are applying to but what is the general ballpark number of how many programs to rank for a successful match in psychiatry? Just wondering how many interviews to schedule in order to come up with a good rank list. I am an osteopathic student trying to match to ACGME programs (if that helps inform your advice).

Members don't see this ad.

For allopaths, the year I applied, everyone who ranked 10 programs matched with the exception of two individuals. Not sure how that magic number works out for osteopaths.

For allopaths, the year I applied, everyone who ranked 10 programs matched with the exception of two individuals. Not sure how that magic number works out for osteopaths.

Does 'allopaths' include IMGs, or only AMGs?

Members don't see this ad :)
Does 'allopaths' include IMGs, or only AMGs?
Sorry, I meant U.S. allopaths.

The best source of info I was able to find on this kind of thing when I nervously wanted to know how many programs was "enough," was Charting Outcomes for the Match. But they break the data down for each specialty into two categories: US Allopaths and "Independents" which include foreign medical schools and U.S. osteopathic programs. It's less useful for non-U.S. allopaths, because what's true for a Ross American grad isn't the same as for a Pikeville grad isn't the same for a Parisian Medical school grad.