Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

How many schools did everyone apply to

Discussion in 'Pre-Veterinary' started by akitavet, Mar 7, 2007.

1. akitavet

Pre-Veterinary
    in one cycle? I would like to know what a reasonable number is. TIA :D

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. HiatusAfflatus

Pre-Veterinary
  4. JumptheMoon

JumptheMoon UPenn Class of 2011

Pre-Veterinary

Be careful...once you start working on VMCAS you think hey, it's really easy to add on another school, or two, or five! Until you start all the supplemental applications...and have to pay the corresponding supplemental FEES :p

5. Aninha

Pre-Veterinary
    I applied to 6 schools.
    I wanted to apply to several because I'm an international student...so I'm not in state anywhere, which makes it harder...so the more schools I apply to, the probability that I'll get accepted into at least one increases...that was my reasoning...

6. ckitten

Pre-Veterinary
    i have an in-state school, so 3 seemed like a good number to me.

7. InfiniVet

Veterinary Student
    6 schools...but the reason is that my fiancee applied to dental school (and got in!) - we were trying our luck to apply only to citites that had both a dental and vet school in it.

8. Habibti

Veterinary Student
    I only applied to 2, for the same reason an infinivet

9. RazorDoc2010

RazorDoc2010 Mizzou 2011

Veterinary Student
    I applied to 7...but I don't have an in-state school, only 3 schools that offer contracts. I agree with JumptheMoon that it's really easy to add schools on vmcas but those supplementals can be killers. As a side note though, some schools have pretty easy supplementals that if you have the money and you're into the school, it wouldn't hurt to apply to.

10. OceanAngel

OceanAngel NCSU c/o 2011

Non-Student
  11. sdb9

Non-Student
    5, I was trying to find a good fit for both me and my fiance.