• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

DeadCactus

SDN Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Oct 28, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I'm in my second year of UG. I'm a bit concerned because I am having a hard time finding research opportunities, especially in the field I hope to get my PhD in.

Would I be able to do pretty well in the application process with only a year of research at the time of application?

Do they want solid proof that you will be able to carry out quality research or is it more like clinical experience, where they just want evidence that you have a decent idea of what you are getting into?

chirurgino

A pound of flesh
10+ Year Member
Oct 21, 2006
The dark side of the moon
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
...research for MSTP apps--the more the better. There is a significant attrition rate for MSTPs once they start in the lab, even at the top programs, and that is the thing that programs hate the most. Programs will therefore want to see clear evidence that you are not a person who will yank their chain for 2 years of med school, get those 2 years paid for, then drop out and go to the wards. Your letters will need to provide concrete evidence that you are not that person (e.g. "one of the top 2-3 hardest working and most dedicated UGs to ever work in my lab")