How Much Time Do You Spend Studying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Reverend Mayhem

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I can never tell if I am studying less than, more than, or the same amount as everyone else. I will spend like 3-4 hours a day studying outside of classes or labs but I never feel comfortable with that, even though my grades are decent. I always imagine that my classmates are studying 8 hours a night, every night and I am just doing the bare minimum.

How much time do you spend studying? Is 3-4 hours a day a lot or do I need to stop slacking and pick up the pace?

Members don't see this ad.

I can never tell if I am studying less than, more than, or the same amount as everyone else. I will spend like 3-4 hours a day studying outside of classes or labs but I never feel comfortable with that, even though my grades are decent. I always imagine that my classmates are studying 8 hours a night, every night and I am just doing the bare minimum.

How much time do you spend studying? Is 3-4 hours a day a lot or do I need to stop slacking and pick up the pace?

if you're happy with your grades, you're studying enough. but if you're not happy, you need to study more! don't worry about your classmates. we all have different levels of abilities - some might have to study more than others to get the exact same grade

Members don't see this ad :)

My input as an MS2:

I sit in class every day from 9am-4pm just to learn something through osmosis, then I don't touch anything at home. About 2 weeks out from a test week (which happens every 5-8 weeks or so), I spend 1 week skimming the material. Then, I spend ~ 1 week before the test studying 12-14 hours per day (while skipping class). I study throughout the exam week as well, always pounding out material for the next day's test.