How often do you see your program director?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jkc17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new intern in Internal Medicine. I've seen our program director, but I've never had a conversation or personal interaction with him. Neither have the second years I've talked to... Is that normal? How do you get PD letters for fellowships if you don't interact with them? How are you evaluated?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a new intern in Internal Medicine. I've seen our program director, but I've never had a conversation or personal interaction with him. Neither have the second years I've talked to... Is that normal? How do you get PD letters for fellowships if you don't interact with them? How are you evaluated?
that's a bit odd...we saw our PD every morning in morning report...and usually at noon conference. Also had service months with him as well...and then there is the mandatory twice yearly meeting for review...so you should have a sit down with him around December.

Reactions: 1 users
I was in peds and not IM but our program director was at morning report and noon conference 85%+ of the time. He was also one of our hospitalists so we worked with him on a regular basis when we were on service. And twice yearly meetings and yearly parties at his house.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm family medicine residency. We see our program director everyday at morning report, and he precepts us in clinic, and is our attending when we're inpatient.
My husband's Internal medicine residency, sees his director at their noon conference about 2-3 times a week, doesn't talk to him much, but is approachable.

Reactions: 1 users
I'm family medicine residency. We see our program director everyday at morning report, and he precepts us in clinic, and is our attending when we're inpatient.