How soon should I start looking for clinical experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crystalclear550

Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm in my first semester as a sophomore, still pursuing my bachelor's. However, due to my study abroad plans, I am worried about not having enough time to prepare for Med School - with the MCAT, clinical and volunteering experience, and shadowing.

I plan to study abroad in Latin America for a semester in the fall of next year. I would be able to seek volunteering and clinical experience; I am already fluent in the host language. For shadowing, it may be tougher to find opportunities abroad - should I search for shadowing opportunities now, or after I return towards the end of next year? Another issue is that many doctors in my area have closed down shadowing due to the pandemic and are still looking into ways to make it virtual.

As for the MCAT, I plan to take it around Apr 2022. I've seen people say they studied for it for months to a whole year -- is a few months enough to prepare to take the MCAT?
Any advice would be appreciated as my plans are all over the place!

Members don't see this ad.

As early as possible - you don’t want to cram everything in the last year

Reactions: 1 user