How to get off your shift on time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aloha Kid

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my first year out practicing. I've notice I am often very slow getting off my shift. I'm probably averaging near 2 hours post shift trying to finish dictations and wrap things up. One of my biggest problems is keeping up with charts and dictations. I find it hard to stop and dictate when there are more patients to be seen and know I have to get better at this.

My production numbers are good, but when averaging the extra hours I stay behind it's simply average to slightly above average. Tonight I felt pretty busy seeing about 2.3 pt per hour, but I was working with a slower doc and felt like I had to pick up the charts to keep the ER going.

I work for a base hourly salary w/ RVU incentives that are press ganey modified. We share the rack and are not podded up. RNs have free reign and access to any doc they want when there are sick patients. Our site average is right about 2 patients per hour.

Anyone have any secrets on how to get out on time?

Members don't see this ad.

From your next shift through the rest of your career, never get more then 3 charts behind on your dictations. Unless there are multiple consecutive codes, don't break this rule. Dictate somewhere that is outside of the normal work-flow area after signout, so you don't get stuck following up on results of patients you signed out an hour ago. Try not to pick patients up an hour before the end of your shift unless you can easily sign them out.

Members don't see this ad :)
There are several factors that can determine whether or not you stay late. If you are single coverage or double coverage it can make a big difference.