How to improve my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rukia013

Jeremiah 29:11-13
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently waitlisted at 3 schools with 0 acceptances so I am starting to think about reapplying possibly during the 2017-2018 cycle. The trouble is that I am not sure how to go about improving my application--the biggest thing I can think of is my 3.6 GPA/32 MCAT since I feel that my application's ECs are pretty well-rounded (hundreds of clinical and non-clinical hours).

All of my ECs+hours are listed in my MDapps as well as all the schools I have applied to (http://www.mdapplicants.com/profile.php?id=30930). I graduated with a degree in Molecular Toxicology so I did not do any research during college since research was already a big part of the curriculum.

At the moment I am thinking of applying to post-bacc programs to improve my GPA but if you guys think that my application should be improved in a different way, please let me know!

(Basically right now I am trying to narrow down what was possibly wrong with my app--if it's not my stats or ECs, then maybe it was my PS or interview skills, etc. Let me know if you want to look at my PS/AMCAS EC descriptions)

Members don't see this ad.

Your application looks fine.
Your list was not tailored to your application, though. Unless you are a gifted writer and started writing secondaries the year before, I can only suspect that the secondaries were so-so.
With three waitlists, there may have also been some communcation or interpersonal barrier to your success. Hopefully one of the waitlists may still bear fruit.

Last edited by a moderator:
Your application looks fine.
Your list was not tailored to your application, though. Unless you are a gifted writer and started writing secondaries the year before, I can only suspect that the secondaries were so-so.