1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

how to improve QR

Discussion in 'Pre-Optometry' started by aldehyde, Apr 26, 2007.

1. aldehyde

2+ Year Member

Pre-Optometry
    Hello all,
    I took my Oat and did terrible on the reading part, a 230. I don't know how one can study for this section. I studied and performed well on other subjects, 340+. I will be taking it again but I don't know how to improve the QR. English is my second language and i tend to do really bad on the reading on standardized tests. Any help?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. drbizzaro

drbizzaro Varilux/Essilor Advocate
    10+ Year Member

Optometrist

dont read the passage... go straight to the questions and then search for the answers in the passage

it got me a whopping 380:thumbup:

4. aldehyde

2+ Year Member

Pre-Optometry
    i tried doing that but how in the world did you get a 380 with only 45mins for 50 questions? That's exactly what i did but i ran out of time searching for the answers and scrolling down the passages. I need major help

5. fonziefonz

7+ Year Member

It was my worst part too :(

6. eyelectric

eyelectric Pacific Class of 2011
    2+ Year Member

Optometry Student
    I would suggest taking timed practice tests before you take the OAT. Try a bunch of different methods and find out which method enables you to perform the best. Then apply your method while taking the actual OAT. Everyone is different; some people like to read the entire passage and others like to skim it. The hardest part is finding what works best for you.

7. drbizzaro

drbizzaro Varilux/Essilor Advocate
    10+ Year Member

Optometrist
    ok here's the exact method i used: