How to study for boards?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hey everyone,

I'm a 2nd year med student at a DO school, and I'm starting to think about how to study for the boards. Over the summer, I read through half of the First Aid book, reread BRS physio, and now am almost all the way through BRS Path. My problem is, I'm a Slooooow learner, who likes to memorize every detail and has difficulty figuring out what's important to study. (having said that I'm getting pretty good grades for what it's worth). Anyway, I want to do really well on the boards, and I'm wondering if anyone out there has a similar learning style and can help me figure out how to focus my studies? For example, what can I do during the year to prepare for boards? I just purchased USMLE world's Qbank. Is it worth it to get Kaplan's Qbank also? Has anyone out there used a private tutor and is willing to share their experience? I've got a million questions, but I figure this is a good start. Also, does anyone know if there's truth to the rumor that the USMLE and COMLEX are abandoning 'keywords' (i.e. 'Herald Patch' for Pityriasis Rosea)? Thanks in advance to anyone who takes time out to answer this....I know we're all really busy!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,