How would a BSN affect my chances on getting into Med School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MyCreativeName

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to this website, and I am sorry if this is in the wrong section. I have been browsing through many forums and have found threads much like this one, but no one has answered this exact question.

Here is my situation.

I am an incoming student at Moravian College, in Pennsylvania. Its a nationally accredited private college (don't think that matters but just in case). I was planning on majoring in nursing and obtaining a BSN, then going to med school. Moravian has a good Pre-med program I would take along with my major. This would fulfill all the required classes for med school admission.

I've heard stories of med schools shunning nursing majors because they are taking always spot of someone who wants to become a nurse. But I didnt, as Moravian pretty much always has at least a few open spots in their nursing program.

SO basically, If i was to major in nursing (and obtain the 4 year degree) and ace all premed track classes, would I still be looked down upon? I would obviously take the MCAT as well. Ive always been VERY close to a 4.0GPA, if not at it.

My uncle has been a nurse for many decades said that majoring in Nursing while fulfilling the pre med requirements was a great idea, but I need your opinions as well.

Thank you. If you have any questions regarding this, please ask!

Members don't see this ad.

I will also be volunteering at a local hospital every summer. The nursing degree at moravian will give me many hours of patient interaction before graduating.