HST-MD vs. MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaipirinhaQuinho

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know it is way too early to talk about this but...

would you go to harvard's hst over another md/phd program (and which one)?

What caliber of mstp would it take to lure you away from the big H?

AND would your decision change if you were offered full funding for the hst?

Members don't see this ad.

yeah as an engineer i'm salivating over that program too. if i got into any of the MSTP progs i applied to, it would probably take full or almost full funding plus a promising possibility of transferring into the MD/PhD there... but who knows, I've only been to 2 of 9 interviews so far, and i dont even have an HST invite yet :(

i would recommend taking HST over many, if not most of the MD PHD programs if you have the financial resources. Essenitally you could do a PhD if you really wanted, but the HST program renders it as such that it'll be unnecessary to do a PhD in order to get into an academic position later on.

Although, in the past i've heard many people cancelling HST interviews simply because they got into really good MDPhD programs. Bear in mind though that the whole PhD thing might wear you out later on. So it's never a sure thing. But once you made the decison don't look back and wonder "what if", cause that really hurts.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not sure if I agree with that...