hypervigilance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roja

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I have noticed that as I have advanced in training, when I go to large public events, I find myself getting a little nervous, scoping the crowd, hoping no one will pass out and that I will hear the inevitable "is there a doctor in the house". (not so much that I don't enjoy my show but it pops in)

Especially as an EM doctor, I'm actually QUALIFIED to respond.

And yesterday it happened. I was just off shift, sitting in a bar waiting for my friend who was also coming off shift. She was walking down the street. I'm sitting there and this girl runs in and says "a guy on a motorcycle just got hit by a car". I was still in my scrubs and had the foresight to grab my stethascope as I ran outside. A guy was face down on the ground in a pool of blood, agonally breathing. There was also a paramedic in the bar who came out as well. We inline stabilized and rolled him, good breathsounds and got him into the ambulance once ems got there.

(makes you realize how little you have in the field. No iv, nothin.)

I was talking to one of my attending friends who said the same thing. "I look around and think there's a lot of CAD here. "

Members don't see this ad.

i find myself noticing who has especially good EJs in a crowd...

anonymousEM said:
i find myself noticing who has especially good EJs in a crowd...

or who has great landmarks for an ij

Members don't see this ad :)
I got over that stuff a while ago. Beer helps.

mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

beeeeeeeeeeer.

Thanks to my medical training, I am hypervigilant to the "PID Shuffle." I can spot that a half a click away.

Q

I really want to cric someone. I fantasize about someone in a restaurant having an indication. I carry a special pocket-knife and a bic pen. I hope this will never be used against me in a court of law.